Liverpool St Helens opened up the new ADM Premier Division season with a fine win over Aldwinians, with a sparkling second half display that hopefully sets the standard for the months to come.

Andy Northey fielded a starting fifteen much the same from the one that finished the previous season, boosted by Jordan Gibson in the centre and the return of the now fit Ross MacCauley in the front row before seeing his side race out of the blocks with two tries in the first 10 minutes.

The first came from the reliable Danny Webster after keeping hold of a difficult pass on his shoulder and the second from the influential Gibson after a fine move all along the backs. Matt Johnston converted both. 14-0. Thereafter the visitors worked into the game and LSH were very much on the back foot for the remainder of the half. Their pressure brought two penalties, 14-6, and a try from close range in the 39th minute when finally breaching the LSH defence after a long period of pressure. 14-11.  

Aldwinians continued to attack immediately on the restart and scored again to take the lead, 14-16 in the 42nd minute. As so many times last season the Moss Lane Faithful, including the loyal trio of Trevor, Brian and Vinnie eagerly anticipating the new season, wondered how their team would react. Enter Darren Wilson. Two dazzling runs through the heart of the Aldwinians defence signalled LSH’s intent, with the second bringing a neat try for Josh Lynch, converted by Johnston. 21-16. Now in the ascendancy, the Moss Laners increased the lead with two more tries, from Jordan Gibson in the 57th minute and Matt Johnston in the 64th, both converted by the full back. 35-16.

The visitors launched a creditable counter attack registering two tries themselves to make it 35-26 with six minutes to go before the afternoon was finished off in fine style by the evergreen Sean Richardson showing everyone a clean pair of heels to notch LSH’s sixth try, again converted by Johnston for 6 out of 6 on the day. 42-26


15 Johnston 14 Walker 13 Gibson J 12 Richardson 11 Lynch 10 McClurg 9 Wilson 1 MacCauley 2 Metcalfe T 3 Gore 4 Royle 5 Forster 6 Roberts C 7 Thompson C 8 Webster Reps 16 Williamson 17 Kean 18 Gibson M