Despite some of the squad not quite sure if they were about to play in England or Wales, Liverpool St Helens could be well satisfied to return to Moss Lane with a bonus point win.  They went with a slightly weakened side due to injury, suspension and unavailability but no-one who was at Oswestry on Saturday would have known it.

Apart from the first fifteen minutes when the home side kept possession and LSH were on the back foot, the Moss laners were in total control, playing some delightful rugby which eventually brought them six tries. Although the line-out didn’t fire, the LSH scrum most certainly did, laying the platform for the win.

Centre Josh Houghton had a tremendous debut; full back Alex Kean didn’t put a foot wrong all afternoon; back rower Sam Ward seemed to be everywhere in attack and defence and the two half backs Dan Filson and Darren Wilson orchestrated proceedings throughout.

Oswestry’s early possession and pressure brought them a converted try in the 12th minute when it seemed that LSH were still getting off the bus.7-0  Seven minutes later they were sparked into life when a typical darting run from skipper Darren Wilson, barging through the Oswestry defence to score LSH’s opening try, converted by Dan Filson, levelled the scores. 7-7. Now with decent possession, LSH went ahead on the half hour when quick work from the half backs saw Josh Houghton sidestep through the Oswestry defensive line to score, converted by Filson 7-14

Five minutes after half-time a decisive break by Matt Cunlifdfe was continued by young Houghton who outpaced his pursuers for a 40 yard try. 7-19. Not to be outdone Cunliffe then scored himself popping up on the left flank to evade two tackles and then sprint 45 yards for LSH’s bonus point try.7-24. A neatly taken try from Dan Filson in the 68th minute, 7-29 and a try from Dan Heslop run in from distance, converted by Filson five minutes later, 7-36 completed a good afternoon’s work for the Moss Laners before Oswestry showed their spirit by scoring a try of their own right on the final whistle.


15 Kean 14 Bate joseph 13 Cunliffe M 12 Houghton 11 Heslop 10 Filson 9 Wilson D © 1 Wilson G 2 Bonati 3 Jackson 4 Gore 5 Potter 6 Royle P 7 Ward 8 Burrows Reps 16 Williamson 17 Donlevy 18 Royle J

John Williams