David Matthews

David Matthews, long time member of Liverpool St Helens, was the President of Lancashire County RFU for 2014/15. Retiring President David Hodgson recently handed over the prestigious office by presenting David with a memento at Tyldesley RUFC during the County’s AGM.  

David first joined Lancashire RFU in 1971 and became the Liverpool Society representative on the General Committee in 1993.  A member of Liverpool St.Helens FC for 49 years he first joined the former St.Helens RU Club in 1965.  

The only other Liverpool St Helens member to be elected to the County Presidency was Ken Brown in 1994-95 with Liverpool providing Reg Higgins in 1974-75 and St Helens man Ted Naylor having the honour in 1969-70

David was a popular and successful International Referee from 1992 to 1994 and was on the RFU List from 1982 to 2002, before combining local refereeing and Assistant Referee duties in the Premiership and Championship. He ultimately became a well-respected Television Match Official TMO from 2001 until 2012.

David said “This is a great honour for me and my club Liverpool St Helens. Lancashire is a magnificent Rugby Union County with some great rugby played at all levels and all ages. I will do my very best to represent the County RFU in everything it does.”

John Williams