LSH 2ndXV 42pts - Burnley 5pts - 1st April 2017.

A hard fought forwards contest at times, however with an experienced pack, LSH dominated the scrums to set the platform for some tremendous free running rugby by the backs.  Fair play to Burnley who battled for 80 minutes.

Two days before kick-off whether LSH could field a side was the question. But with the new strength in depth provided by the title winning Colts lads plus the call up of Chairman Tom Jackson and fellow retired front rower Jan Lourens, 2nd row Colin Mercure and Richard Laycock, the coaches knew they had a special blend to work with.

LSH started well and with Andy Pickavance back in the fray on the wing, debuts from Connor Roberts, flanker, and Jordan Smith at outside centre, LSH quickly got into gear.

LSH scored tries a plenty with two from Jamal, whose pace was lightning, one each from Andy Pick, Sean Casey, Jan Lourens and Wakey. Andy Pick running some great lines through the Burnley defence.

Man of the match was Adam Laycock who came on at unfamiliar 8 but played sublimely until falling badly in the tackle and breaking his collar bone. Best wishes to Adam we hope you make a speedy recovery.

Unit put in some hard yards and powerful clearouts  as did all the forwards. Real credit to Unit for again putting in a big 80. Colin Mercure worked his cockney socks off.

Forwards move of the match was a scrum on the Burnley 22 where LSH powered through the full pack to send them backwards on their backsides. Such strength on display.

Sean Casey put some class backs moves into play bringing in full back Jamie Morris and inside centre Jordan Wakefield to link together to mesmerize the opposition.

In the first half Ste Cline at 10 played some of his best rugby to date with good passes and some big carries.

First time Union player Jordan Smith showed great hands with two very neat delayed passes to send wingers into space.

Overall a very satisfying result for the team. Probably the best game of the season so far.

Squad  - 1. Tom Jackson. 2. Jan Lourens. 3. Paul Hart. 4. Colin Mercure 5. Charlie Flowers. 6. George Gates. 7. Connor Roberts. 8. Tom Mcbride. 9. Jack Obrian. 10. Ste Cline. 11 Jamal Zaki. 12. Jordan Wakefield. 13. Jordan Smith. 14. Andy Pickavance 15. Jamie Morris. 16 sean Casey. 17. Richard Laycock, 18. Adam Laycock.

Paul Killilea